HAPPY PRESIDENTS DAY

ODJFS | OHIO Labor Market Information

ContactLMI@jfs.ohio.gov

Mother of Presidents

Did you know that Ohio is the birthplace of *seven* U.S. presidents? Eight presidents actually called Ohio home. William Henry Harrison was born in Virginia but later settled near Cincinnati. It's no wonder the state is known as the "Mother of Presidents"!

Ohio's Legacy

<u>#</u>	<u>President</u>	Presidential Term	<u>Birthplace</u>
9	William Henry Harrison	1841 - 1841	Berkeley, VA
18	Ulysses S. Grant	1869 – 1877	Point Pleasant, OH
19	Rutherford B. Hayes	1877 - 1881	Delaware, OH
20	James Garfield	1881 - 1881	Orange Township, OH
23	Benjamin Harrison	1889 – 1893	North Bend, OH
25	William McKinley	1897 - 1901	Niles, OH
27	William Howard Taft	1909 – 1913	Cincinnati, OH
29	Warren Harding	1921 – 1923	Near Blooming Grove, OH



Making an Impact

- Grant signed legislation establishing the 8-hour workday for federal employees.
- Hayes signed a law to allow women lawyers to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court.
- McKinley served two two-year terms as governor of Ohio.
- Taft was the only president to also serve as Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.
- Harding had many jobs before becoming the president. He was a teacher, an insurance salesman,
 a reporter, and the owner of a newspaper called the Marion Daily Star.

Ohio Counties with Presidential Names

County	2023 Populatio
Adams	27,521
Harrison	14,159
Jackson	32,606
Jefferson	64,026
Madison	44,602
Monroe	13,153
Washington	58,577

Sources: Census.gov/quickfacts, ohiostatehouse.org



